About Us



HeadquartersThe National Society, United States Daughters of 1812, has established and maintains at 1461 Rhode Island Avenue, NW, in Washington, DC, the only museum dedicated to the historical period of 1784 to 1815, a relatively unknown era of our history. From a former mast of the U.S.S. Constitution which now serves as our flag pole, to powder horns, swords, scrimshaw, diaries and portraits, our museum reflects this exciting period. In 1928 the National Society purchased for
their headquarters a three-story brick building. This Queen Anne Architecture, built in 1884 by Rear Admiral John H. Upshur (1823- 1917), has been lovingly maintained and today is in excellent condition. For over seventy five years, members and friends of the society have been adding to the collection of period furniture, books and artifacts.


The Indiana State Society United States Daughters of 1812 was formed in 1910. There are Six Chapters within the State Society.

Philip Schoff Chapter, Indianapolis, IN. Organized March 30, 1911 – Reorganized June 2, 1951.

Jonathan Jennings Chapter, Clarksville, IN. Organized Organized May 2, 1988.

Olde Vistula Road Chapter, LaGrange, IN, Organized November 14, 2014

Capt. John Jackson Chapter, Elkhart, IN, Organized November 5, 2016

Hugh McGary Sr. Chapter, Newburgh, IN, Organized February 25, 2017

William Hendricks Chapter, Indianapolis, IN, Organized March 4, 2017

Julie Martin Lambert Chapter, Terre Haute, IN, Chartered May 6, 2017.


PictureAdmission to membership in the National Society is by invitation after anffirmative vote by the chapter or state society. Applicants shall have the endorsement of two members in good standing to whom the applicant is personally known.

Membership is available to women age eighteen and over who can offer satisfactory proof that they are lineal descendants of an ancestor who, during the period of 1784-1815 inclusive, rendered civil, military, or naval service to our country, rendered material aid to the U.S. Army or Navy, or who participated in the Lewis and Clark Expedition. Junior membership is available to girls and boys from birth through age 21. Young women between the ages of eighteen and thirty-five are known as Flora Adams Darling Daughters in honor of the Society's first president.

This site updated on July 7, 2017
Web hyperlinks to non-U.S.D. of 1812 sites are not the responsibility of the N.S.U.S.D. of 1812, the state societies, or  individual U.S.D. of 1812 chapters



Indiana Photos

Corydon - First State Capitol


General George Rogers Clark



Lynne Morris Keasling

Vice President
Rebecca Legler Shelton

Miriam Harter Carnahan

Recording Secretary
Catherine H. Reedy

Corresponding Secretary
Bonnie A. Reilly

Rebecca Speaker

Jo Ann Cummins